Book Review: Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

hunger games - collins

hunger games - collins

The Hunger Games is set it a world where the Capitol watches over the twelve
districts, and they are controlling, dangerous, everywhere. It’s a world where
every year, twelve boys and twelve girls are forced into taking part in a
horrifying live event known as the Hunger Games, which is seen as a form of
entertainment. The citizens are forced to watch as children from their District
are brutally murdered, all because the Capitol wants to keep them completely
under control. Why? Seventy-five or so years before our story’s set, there was a
rebellion that led to the Capitol destroying the thirteenth District. And to
show their control and just how easily they could destroy every single district
if they so pleased, the Capitol introduced the Hunger Games.

So when
Katniss’s twelve-year-old sister Primrose gets chosen, she knows she can’t let
her go through that. So she steps forwards to take Prim’s place. Even though it
very likely means her own death…

I loved The Hunger Games. I sped
through the book, completely and utterly hooked, unable to put it down. It was
terrifying: a real psychological thriller, and the scariest thing about it all
is, with the way society’s going at the moment, the Hunger Games – or something
like them – may become reality. I couldn’t get that out of my head as I read: it
was all just so thought-provoking, and at the same time petrifying.

Katniss was a incredible protagonist: she was so strong and brave. She
was just a good ol’ kick-butt heroine, which was so refreshing after all the
wimpy, useless damsel-in-distress leads that are in YA fiction so much at the
moment. Actually, in that respect and with her smart-mouth attitude, Katniss
reminded me quite a bit of Rose, out of Vampire Academy. I admired how level
headed, and defiant she was. It felt like I was there with her, feeling all of
her emotions, stuck in all the situation with her. As a lead, she was amazing,
and I loved the softer side of her, when it briefly shows. It made her feel more
real.

Peeta was an amazing male lead, and the complete opposite of
Katniss’ attitude. As a brief flashback of Katniss’ reveals that Peeta gave her
two loaves of bread when she was younger and starving, and getting punished for
doing so, I instantly fell in love. I saw his goodness and his heart, but I
wondered why he would risk it. It didn’t matter: I was Team Peeta! And the
chemistry between him and Katniss was so believable, and real.

The
supporting characters are brilliant too, with little Rue, a twelve year old from
District 11, Prim, Gale – Katniss friend from home – and Haymitch. Unlike a lot
of books, the characters was fleshed out as well, not just empty vessels, used
for a certain conversation. The relationships were perfect and real too; it was
all just amazing!

The Hunger Games is non-stop suspense, the plot goes
at breakneck speed, and is unbelievably addictive. And although it’s very dark,
scary, and atrocious, it was funny at times, as well as having me choke up with
tears. Literally an emotional roller coaster that was so vivid it left me dizzy,
overwhelmed with all I had felt. I wondered briefly about the bizarre names
(Katniss, Rue, Cato, Peeta), before deciding that didn’t matter because I was
hooked. I had to finish the book, so I could know what happened.

Suzanne
Collins is an absolute genius: she created a world so utterly believable my
heart pounded as I read. I can’t get enough, and the ending left me breathless
and desperate for more. And her writing was amazing: somehow raw and beautiful
at the same time – a combonation I didn’t even think was possible. You seriously
have to read this one, because it is absolutely incredible. I’ve already started
gushing about it to a friend, telling her she has to read it!

If I had
to describe it in one word: epic.

About peterschow

"the Schow must go on"
This entry was posted in book review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

